Bruce Davis Gold Medal Examination 2018

This Gold Medal is named after Mr. Wilfrid Bruce Davis, MBE. He has supported many palliative care projects in India including the construction of the Institute of Palliative Medicine at Kozhikode.Mr. Bruce Davis was born in 1925 into a mining engineering family, eventually becoming managing director of Davis Derby, the Company founded by his great- great grandfather in 1779.

In 1967, following the death of a close friend and his mother from cancer, he founded the W.B.Davis Charitable Trust. From very small beginnings, in 1979 the Trust built up a team of Macmillan nurses in Cornwall and also Marie Curie nurses who visited cancer patients in their own homes. In 1982, the Trust founded a small Hospice in the West of Cornwall, St Julia’s, named after Bruce’s mother. This was mainly staffed by nuns of the Sisters of the Cross of Liege.

The Charity first worked Overseas in the 1980’s, starting in Hong Kong. Projects commenced in India in the mid-90’s and mainly centred on Kozhikode when the Trust was put in touch with a vital, forward-looking, team running the Pain & Palliative Care Society there. It was then decided to fund the building of what is now the Institute of Palliative Medicine.Mr. Bruce has contributed immensely to the palliative care programmes in India.Mr. Bruce Davis lived in Feock, Cornwall, UK and always kept a close association with palliative care programmes in India.

Mr. Wilfrid Bruce Davis, MBE is no longer with us. His demise on 11th April 2018 has created a void in the field of Palliative Care which cannot be easily filled. Many palliative care activists consider him a dear friend and benefactor and feel the pain of having a part of them being taken away. Millions of people who have never known him have lost a friend whom they never knew. Institute of Palliative Medicine has initiated the Gold Medal in 2005 in his honour. We hope this programme will help to improve awareness about palliative care among junior doctors in India.

Bruce Davis Gold Medal Examination was launched by Institute of Palliative Medicine, Kozhikode, India, in 2005 with an aim to improve awareness about palliative care among young doctors in India. This is the only national level program to honour junior doctors for their excellence in Palliative Medicine.

Doctors who appear for their final MBBS examination in the current year (2018) and those who have successfully completed MBBS not earlier than 2013 from any recognized Medical College in India are eligible.
In the case of candidates undergoing MD in Palliative Medicine, only those who have joined for the course after NEET PG 2018 are eligible to apply. Which means those who are doing the 2nd and 3rd year of MD in Palliative Medicine are excluded. If qualified for Step II examination (Refer below) the candidate has to bring original or certified proof of their qualifying examination.

Step I: An open online screening test at national level which the candidate can do at his/her conveience. Step I screening test comprises of 100 MCQs. 60% of questions are from the subjects covered during the MBBS Course and 40% questions are from Palliative Medicine.
Step II: The final examination will be held at the Institute of Palliative Medicine, Kozhikode where the candidates who secure top five spots in the step I screening test will be further evaluated. The step II examination consists of two parts; Theory and assessment of clinical skills.

The application form and questionnaire for the screening test are available online at the website of Institute of Palliative Medicine.
For application and to participate Step I examination,
please follow this link. Visit:

Click on the following link to register:
Candidates once registered can login with registered email and password at any time. The candidate can take his/her own time to complete the screening test. Confirmed answers will be saved. Remember to submit your answers on or before 30th October 2018. Once submitted, you will not be able make any modification. If you wont submit your answers on or before 30th October, your registration will be invalid and will not be considered for evaluation.
There is no registration fee.

Those five candidates who qualify for Step II examination will be paid 3AC Train fare to travel up to Kozhikode from their home place and return journey.


References for Palliative Medicine:
1. Introducing Palliative Care
Robert Twycross
Fourth Edition ( 2003)
2. Handbook for Certificate Course in Essentials of Palliative Care
Revised 4th Edition( 2012)
3. Oxford Text Book of Palliative Medicine
Fourth edition (2010)


The winner of the final examination will be awarded the Bruce Davis Gold Medal in Palliative Medicine, a citation and cash award of Rs. 25,000/- (Rupees twenty five thousand only).
The Award will be presented at the 24rd International Conference of Indian Association of Palliative Care to be held in Pune in February 2018.


Dr. Lulu Mathews
Coordinator, BDGM 2018
Institute of Palliative Medicine
WHO Collaborating Centre for Community Participation in Palliative Care and Long Term Care
Pain and Palliative Care Society,  Medical College, Calicut, Kerala, India. PIN - 673008
Tel: +91 495 2354166, Fax: + 91 495 2359607, E-mail: